The Next Best Thing!

These highly sought after vintage ceramic figurines amongst collectors…

3fbd772cc4c604019ede6fcd5ec29168

Photo is not mine, but Sofia from flickr.

… are very hard to find, and if you are fortunate enough to get your hands on them. Lucky you! I only got into vintage ceramics earlier this year and since then, these cuties are just that hard to find. I did however come across, these cheesy vintage flocked plastic ones on etsy. If you look closely, their stance is similar to these ceramic deer. So, I decided to try something out…

Seller’s photo. Purchased from etsy. I took off the mistletoe and googly eyes, and bells.  I tried painting over the flocking, but that did not work out so well. So, I removed the flocking altogether…

Spray painted them white, and the past day or so, worked on painting details on them. In the end, this is what I was able to create. Though, now that I think on it a bit more, I should’ve painted the Doe’s eyes closed. That would’ve been better. Darn.

But, still they turned out nice. The Buck looks a bit more like the original ceramic ones. It was fun to try to re-create them. For now, these will be the closest to owning a set.

While working on the fawns, I received this amazing Macoto Takahashi tin filled with chocolate krispies. Inside, you also get a postcard too. Cool!

macotochocolates-5

I will definitely be using the tin for vintage or doll related items… Very nostalgic.

Thanks for reading! ~ ggsdolls

Leave a Reply

